Possession of Minor Drugs & Allegations of Intent To Sell or Distribute Drugs In Oklahoma
Experienced Criminal Law Attorneys Serving El Reno and Oklahoma City
Getting caught with drugs is a serious matter in Oklahoma, especially for possession of minor drugs or allegations of intent to sell or distribute drugs. What is even more serious is if you or your loved one are not properly represented by experienced counsel. If you are convicted of drug possession or intent to sell or distribute drugs in Oklahoma, the effects can be detrimental to your permanent record, which could include:
- criminal charges
- jail time
- civil penalties
- suspension of license
- denial of right to vote
- loss of government benefits, professional licenses, or employment
Overall, the state of Oklahoma has one of the strictest drug possession laws in the United States. For instance, some estimates suggest that annually around 13,000 Oklahomans are placed under arrest for marijuana related drug crimes. These figures don’t even cover other controlled substances or drugs. That is why it is critical to immediately obtain seasoned criminal defense representation, as the state incarcerates more people for drug related crimes than any other state in the nation.
In Oklahoma, drugs or controlled substances are categorized under various schedules. Schedule I drugs may include marijuana, morphine, peyote, or mescaline and LSD. Schedule II drugs may include codeine, methadone, cocaine, and other opiates. Schedule III drugs include barbituric acid or anabolic steroids. Schedule IV drug examples are Ativan, Valium or Xanax. Lastly, Schedule V drugs are medications containing narcotics.
The following chart illustrates just how stringent Oklahoma laws are, even towards minor drug offenses:
Type of Drug Offense
|Penalties For Drug Offenses|
|Possession of Schedule I or II substance (excluding Schedule II D such as depressants or stimulants or marijuana) without a prescription.||The penalties for a first time offense may include a $5000 fine and/or prison time. For a second time or additional offenses, which is a felony, the fines increase to $10,000 and jail time between 4-20 years.|
|Possession of Marijuana or Schedule II(D), Schedule III, IV, and V.||It is a misdemeanor for first time offenders, subject to the amount found on the person, which could be one year in jail and $1000 in fines.
If there have been prior convictions, it is a felony, which could be 2-10 years if committed within ten years and more than $5000 in fines.
|Possession with intent to distribute or sell Schedule I, II, III, and IV.||It is a felony and first time offenders are looking at 2 years to lifetime in prison and a fine up to $20,000.
For someone who employs a minor to sell drugs or sells drugs to a minor or sells near a park, school, or public house, including, a second time offender (or habitual offender), the penalties are doubled.
Seasoned Oklahoma Criminal Defense Attorneys Offer Aggressive Criminal Defense For A Reasonable Price
Having an experienced Oklahoma criminal defense attorney by your side is crucial if you or a loved is under investigation, has been arrested, charged, or convicted of drug possession and/or intent to distribute or sell. Minor drug offenses carry severe penalties that can damage your record. We offer free initial consultations at The Handley Law Center and are ready to help you from start to finish. As experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys can help navigate you through the process to try to have the charges dismissed against you or reduced. There are substance abuse programs that are efficient and effective to help addicts kick their drug habits that we often refer out to people and clients. Please call us today at (405) 295-1924 during our normal business hours.